Home  » Articles  » Vedic Panchang

Vedic Panchang

Vedic Panchang, Hindu Panchang or Hindu Panchangam is an astrological almanac that is used to calculate time and it is considered as an auspicious calender by Hindus. Ancient Indian scholars had studied the positions of planetary bodies and stars in details. After this detailed study, a comprehensive calender was prepared to act as an advisor for all the dates and events. So vedic panchang has its deep roots and been followed for the past five thousand years. Panchanga is a Sanskrit word that means “five limbs” in which Panch means five and Anga means body part. Every hindu panchang have five elements, which are:

  • Tithi (lunar day),
  • Nakshatra (Moon's constellation with which it is aligned),
  • Karana (half-day),
  • Yoga (a particular angle of the sun and moon)
  • Vara or vasara (solar weekday)

Tithi or Date
Vedic Panchang Tithi is the phase of the moon that occurs between Am avasya (No moon) to Purnima (Full Moon). There are 16 phases of the moon and Tithi is the first of all these. Tithis of the Shukla-Paksha (brighter phase) starts from the the day of Amavasya and Krishna Paksha (darker phase) tithi commences from the day of Purnima till Amavasya. Tithi is calculated from the first half of Lunar month in the phase of Shukla-Paksha in Hindu Panchangam.
  1. Pratipada
  2. Dwitiya
  3. Tritiya
  4. Chaturthi
  5. Panchami
  6. Shashthi
  7. Saptami
  8. Ashtami
  9. Navami
  10. Dashami
  11. Ekadasi
  12. Dwadashi
  13. Trayodashi
  14. Chaturdashi
  15. Purnima

For the next half of the month same tithis are repeated.

Nakshatra (constellation) Nakshatra is the group of stars. The whole Universe is divided into parts and to each part a name has been given. These are Ashwini, Bharani, Kritika, Rohini, Mrigashira, Aardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Aaslesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyeshtha, Moola, Poorvaashadha, Uttaraashadha, Shravani, Dhanistha, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada, Revati. Every person is born in specific Nakshatra and its influence is calculated in hindu panchangam.

Yogas Yogas are the combination adn in hindu panchangam there are 27 yogas.

Karana Karna is the half of the tithi. In a tithi there are two karana and in vedic panchang there are 11 karana. The first seven Karana are movable so cannot be predetermined where as the last four Karana are fixed. Eleven Karana are 1)Bala, 2) Baalava, 3) Kaulava, 4) Taitil, 5) Gara, 6) Vanija, 7) Vishti, 8) Shakuni, 9) Chatushpada, 10) Naaga, 11) Kinstughna

Vara (days) of Vedic Panchang The day or Vara as per vedic panchang begins from sunrise to next sunrise and this system is called 'AHORATRA'. The meaning of Ahoratra is both day and night. The last three letter that is T, R, A has been taken from “HORA” a sanskrit word that means Hour and the English word Hour has been coined from HORA. According to hindu panchang there are 12 horas in a day.

Day Name in Vedic Panchang (Solar Weekday)
Monday Somvar
Tuesday Mangalwar
Wednesday Budhwar
Thursday Guruvar
Friday Shukravar
Saturday Shanivar
Sunday Ravivar

Vedic panchang is prepared by different scholars, authors and societies of astrology so it differs a bit. In hindu panchangam all information related to the date and time of solar eclipse, lunar eclipse, weather forecast etc is given. So it has vital information on astrological things, position of planets and stars. By finding out the exact position of these celestial bodies, the effect of each planet of an individual is calculated. People look for hindu panchang to find out the perfect date to solemnize marriage, start business or for any other auspicious work. Many mathematical formulas goes into the structuring of vedic panchang.

It is believed that the planetary motion effect our mind and psyche. We may not be aware of the position of the planet but yes they do influence us. Like when Jupiter is too close to the Earth it leaves its effect on every individual although its impact for sure vary. Astrologers use the vedic panchagam to forecast future

If you want to know impact of sign on you then you must know the zodiac or Rashi phala in order to understand vedic panchang which can also make the predictions of this kind.

Some vedic panchang are made for one year and some are for 100 or more than that number of years. The one that is for the 100 years is called Vishvavijaya Panchanga. One National Panchanga or the Indian National Calender is also prepared by the Government of India

Indian Calender Month in Panchang
Month Month in Panchang Number of days
March - April Chaitra 30
April- May Vaisakh 31
May - June Jyaistha 31
June - July Ashadh 31
July - August Shravan 31
August- September Bhadrapad 31
September - October Ashvin 30
October - November Karttik 30
November- December Margashirsha 30
December - January Pousha 30
January - February Magh 30
February - March Phalgun 30

Get Your Vedic Panchang Astro Camp
Hindu Net
Free Download of New Year Vedic Panchang 2010