Home  » About Astrology

About Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology focus on the casting of an astrological chart or horoscope, a representation of celestial entities, for an event based on the position of the Sun, Moon, and planets at the moment of the event. It uses the sidereal or fixed or constellational zodiac, linking the signs of the zodiac to their original constellations. In Vedic astrology the constellations remain of paramount importance. It also includes the use of 28 nakshatras or lunar mansions, which have been used in India since Vedic times, and the systems of planetary periods known as dashas.

Historical traditions Throughout its long history, astrology has come to prominence in many regions and undergone developments and change. There are many astrological traditions that are historically important. Astrologers still retain an interest in them and regard them as an important resource. Historically significant traditions of astrology include Arab and Persian astrology; Babylonian astrology; Egyptian astrology; Hellenistic astro Mayan astrology.

Current traditions The main traditions used by modern astrologers are Hindu Astrology (Jyotisa), Western astrology, and Chinese astrology.

Vedic and Western astrology share a common ancestry as horoscopic systems of astrology, in that both traditions focus on the casting of an astrological chart or horoscope.

However, horoscopic astrology has been practiced in India since ancient times, and Vedic astrology is the oldest surviving form of horoscopic astrology in the world. Horoscopic astrology is the most influential and widespread form of astrology in Africa, India, Europe and the Middle East.

Central to horoscopic astrology and its branches is the calculation of the horoscope or astrological chart.

Astrological Branches Traditions of astrology can be divided into different branches that are each directed towards specific subjects or purposes.

Dosha and Remedies Doshas and remedies are the part and parcel of vedic astrology and has been practiced since the inception of vedic astrology. The Nine Planets According to Indian Astrology, the destiny and traits of an individual are associated with the position of the planets on the date and place of birth. These nine zodiac planets or Hindu nine planets or Navagraha put out energy waves to influence the lives on Earth.

Twelve Houses in Astrology Most horoscopic traditions of astrology systems divide the horoscope into a number (usually twelve) of houses and these houses in Hindu astrological tradition are known as Bhavas. The houses of the horoscope represent different phases of life, in terms of physical surroundings as well as personal life experiences. In delineation the placement of a planet or zodiac sign in a house will determine to a large degree the area of life in which it acts, and the goals and activities on which its drive or impulse will be focused. The beginning of each house in astrology is called cusp and the 12 houses in horoscope runs in a clockwise direction.

Read more on » Twelve Houses in Astrology
Daily Panchang Or Astrological Chart